European Health Award 2015

The European Health Award honours initiatives aiming to improve public health or healthcare in Europe. It was established in 2007 to promote cross-border cooperation, multi-country working and the development of sustainable, innovative and transferable initiatives which address current challenges such as disparities in health status, access to services and the provision of treatment within Europe. 

The European Health Award includes prize money of €10,000 and the 2015 prize was presented at the 18th European Health Forum Gastein on Friday 2nd October 2015.

October 2015 Update - EHA 2015 Winner Announced!
We would like to congratulate the project “Health with Migrants for Migrants in Europe” (MiMi) which was awarded the 2015 European Health Award in an Award Ceremony during the Closing Plenary of the European Health Forum Gastein 2015! 
The project “Health with Migrants for Migrants in Europe” (MiMi) is improving migrants’ and refugees’ access to health services by increasing their health literacy and capacity building. MiMi´s key technology for social inclusion includes executive education for intercultural mediators, health campaigns in migrant communities, multilingual health guides to explain health systems, related health topics or healthy life styles, networking and evaluation. You can find out further information on the winning project here.
Participating countries: Germany and Austria

Shortlisted Projects 2015: 

To find out more about the six projects that were shortlisted for the European Health Award 2015 please click here.

Further Information:
To access our archive of previous European Health Award winners, please visit the Years of Award pages, or download our European Health Award Information  Brochure (461 KB). 

Acceptance speech by Ramazan Salman, Executive Director, Ethno-Medical Center Germany
Ramazan Salman after receiving the European Health Award 2015
Ramazan Salman receives the European Health Award 2015 on behalf of the MiMi Project